Music Review" Rogue Wave's “Permalight”

3/15/2010 Posted by Admin

Music Review

Rogue Wave's “Permalight”

By our guest blogger, Megan O'Malley

Rogue Wave’s new album, “Permalight,” was made for college radio stations. Their catchy but still edgy lyrics grab listeners and make them yearn for more. With this being their fourth studio album, Rogue Wave has learned what their fans want and how to bring it to them.

“Solitary Gun” starts the album off. The opening is a bit too quiet for my taste--you really have to strain your ears to hear it, but that quickly builds up into a great song. The album is put together very well--the way the songs flow together creates a natural progression and harmony.

“Sleepwalker” is melancholy and beautiful. As the album moves forward the songs become more and more soulful and rocking. The title track, “Permalight,” has a cool jarring sound to it and the vocal tracking offers just the right amount of depth. “Fear itself” has a Death Cab for Cutie sound about it, not just in the music but in the way the lead singer is vocalizing. He uses that light, breathy voice that still has some masculine qualities like Ben Gibbard. The lyrics are similar as well. “We Will Make a Song Destroy” is a fun piece to listen to and will definitely make new fans out of random listeners--it’s got the right kind of hook. My favorite song is “I’ll Never Leave You” because it has hand claps and an intimate sound.

The only major problems with the album come at the end. Their last two songs are not their best work. “You Have Boarded” is repetitive, but the guitar is good so it makes up for it. Whereas “All That Remains” cuts off kind of quickly, not the best way to end an album because it doesn’t feel like there is any real conclusion. The first time I listened to it I thought the song was buffering itself not ending. These are minor setbacks on what is otherwise a very good album.

Rogue Wave has been making a name for themselves over the past six years. “Permalight” is a solid album that will be enjoyed by fans both new and old. For those that haven’t heard of them, this is a great album to start with. It’s accessible and lovely. If you haven’t found them on the radio yet turn to your local college station and start requesting.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes